GOVERNING BODY OF COMMISSION ON PROSECUTION COORDINATION

The agency provided the information below in the Program Evaluation Report it submitted on April 6, 2018.¹ The agency is asked to review the information annually and provide any updates.

Pursuant to state statute, the activities involving the prosecution of criminal cases in South Carolina is to be coordinated by the S.C. Commission on Prosecution Coordination (SCCPC). The SCCPC is guided by a Commission comprised of the following 11 members, who serve without compensation:

- (1) Chairmen of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees for the terms for which they are elected or their legislative designees;
- (2) Chief of the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) for the term for which he is appointed;
- (3) Director of the Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) shall serve during the term for which he is appointed;
- (4) a director of a Judicial Circuit Pre-Trial Intervention Program appointed by the Governor for a term of two years;
- (5) a Judicial Circuit Victim-Witness Assistance Advocate appointed by the Governor for a term of two years; and
- (6) five judicial circuit solicitors appointed by the Governor for a term of four years.

There are currently no term limits for members of the Commission as long as they meet the qualifications. If a vacancy arises, it must be filled in the same manner as the initial appointment (which, for all but the SLED and SCDPS seats, are by appointment by the Governor).

The Commission meets at least once per year. The Commission is governed by a Chair; the Chair and any other officers needed are elected by a majority vote of the Commission. A list of current Commissioners is available on the Secretary of State's website.

¹ The agency was asked, "Please provide information about the body that governs the agency, if any, and to whom the agency head reports. Explain what the agency's enabling statute outlines about the agency's governing body (e.g., board, commission, etc.), including, but not limited to: total number of individuals in the body; whether the individuals are elected or appointed; who elects or appoints the individuals; the length of term for each individual; whether there are any limitations on the total number of terms an individual can serve; whether there are any limitations on the total number of terms an individual can serve; the names of the individuals currently on the governing body, date elected/appointed, and term number; and any other requirements or nuisances about the body which the agency believes is relevant to understanding how it and the agency operate. If the governing body operates differently than outlined in statute, please describe the differences."

The table below includes the list of Commissioners at the time the agency submitted its Program Evaluation Report.

Commissioners (as of April 2018)		
Term of Person Currently on Commission began on Commission	Statutory Role	Individual's Name
7/1/14 – 6/30/18	Solicitor Appointed by the Governor	Solicitor Isaac McDuffie Stone III Fourteenth Judicial Circuit
7/1/16 - 6/30/18	Solicitor Appointed by the Governor	Solicitor William W. Wilkins III Thirteenth Judicial Circuit
7/1/14 – 6/30/18	Solicitor Appointed by the Governor	Solicitor Kevin S. Brackett Sixteenth Judicial Circuit
7/1/13 – 6/30/17	Solicitor Appointed by the Governor	Solicitor J. Strom Thurmond Second Judicial Circuit
7/1/13 – 6/30/17	Solicitor Appointed by the Governor	Solicitor Scarlett A. Wilson Ninth Judicial Circuit
N/A	Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee or his/her designee	Senator Greg Hembree
N/A	Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee or his/her designee	Representative Thomas E. Pope Speaker Pro Tem
N/A	Chief, S.C. Law Enforcement Division	Chief Mark A. Keel
N/A	Director, S.C. Department of Public Safety	Director Leroy Smith
Currently Vacant	Director, Judicial Circuit Pretrial Intervention Program Appointed by the Governor	Vacant since May 17, 2017 (former Commission member retired)
Currently Vacant	Judicial-Circuit Victim-Witness Assistance Advocate Appointed by the Governor	Vacant since October 2, 2017 (former Commission member left the Solicitor's Office)